3 de julio de 2014

Review/Reseña - Heist Society (Ladrona con clase) - Ally Carter




Author: Ally Carter
Original title: Heist Society
English title: Heist Society
Spanish title: Ladrona con clase
Publisher/Editorial: Disney-Hyperion / Molino
Genre/Género: Mystery/Misterio, YA/Juvenil

Summary: Katarina Bishop is a young member of a family of thieves who has left the family business to study and live a normal life at a boarding school. One day, a friend gets her expelled and tells her that a powerful man is after her father because he blames him of a theft that he didn’t commit. Kat has to find and steal the stolen paintings to save her father but she only has two weeks to do it.

Review: This book is a bit like the art thieving part of White Collar, but without the FBI and with teenagers who are art thieves. You do need to accept a few unlikely things as true to enjoy it, because there's no way that so many people would take a few teenagers seriously. However, it's a very interesting novel if you imagine the characters to be in their early twenties instead of their late teenage years. This is the only negative thing that I found though.

I loved how it kept my attention for so long, that I read it in one day. In fact, I only put it down to eat lunch. Even though it’s the kind of book where you never get the impression that anybody is really in danger, I had to keep reading because I wanted to know how they solved the problem.

Awesome book for fans of Ocean’s 11 and White Collar, as long as they don’t mind teenage main characters. There aren’t enough books about thieves out there and I’ll definitely read the rest of the series.

---

Resumen: Katarina Bishop es una joven miembro de una familia de ladrones que ha dejado el negocio familiar para dedicarse a estudiar y vivir una vida normal en un internado. Un día, un amigo hace que la expulsen y le cuenta que un hombre poderoso está tras la pista de su padre porque le culpa de un robo que no cometió. Kat tiene que encontrar y robar los cuadros robados para salvar a su padre, pero sólo tiene dos semanas para ello.

Reseña: Este libro es un poco como la parte de robo de arte de Ladrón de Guante Blanco, pero sin el FBI y con ladrones adolescentes. Hay que aceptar algunas cosas improbables como verdaderas para que uno se divierta, porque no es probable que tanta gente tome en serio a un puñado de adolescentes. Sin embargo, es una novela muy interesante si uno se imagina a los personajes como personas de veintitantos en lugar de adolescentes. Esto es el único punto negativo que le encontré al libro.

Me gustó mucho cómo capturó mi atención durante tanto tiempo que lo leí en un día. De hecho, sólo lo dejé para ir a comer. Aunque es la clase de libro que en ningún momento transmite la sensación de que nadie esté en peligro, necesitaba seguir leyendo porque quería saber cómo iban a solucionar el problema.

Un libro genial para fans de Ocean’s 11 y Ladrón de Guante Blanco, siempre que no les importe que los personajes principales sean adolescentes. No hay suficientes libros sobre ladrones y pienso terminar de leer esta serie.

8 comentarios:

  1. I imagined the characters older too. I was disappointed when Drew Barrymore movie project didn't work out. It would make a great film.

    ResponderEliminar
    Respuestas
    1. It would work so much better as a movie with older actors. I had heard about a possible movie, but didn't know what had happened. Too bad that they didn't make it.

      Eliminar
  2. No conocía tu blog pero definitivamente me quedo por aquí:) me parece genial lo de dos idiomas y como necesito practicar mi inglés me viene como anillo al dedo!
    En cuanto al libro, no lo conocía, pero no se ve mal!
    Kisses♥

    ResponderEliminar
    Respuestas
    1. Lo de los dos idiomas empezó para practicar mi inglés, así que me alegro de que le sea útil a alguien más :)

      Eliminar
  3. Pinta bien, me apetece leerlo :P

    Besooooooos =)

    ResponderEliminar
    Respuestas
    1. Está muy bien. Gracias por pasarte por aquí.

      Besos :)

      Eliminar
  4. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed this! It does look like a fun book if you can suspend your disbelief.

    ResponderEliminar
    Respuestas
    1. I've realised that suspending disbelief is necessary when reading YA, especially if you're already a bit older than the characters. In most cases, I just imagine them in their twenties.

      Eliminar